I am you and you are me

We were all on the bed, reading a book when the doorbell went. After i’d dealt withit, i came upstairs to find Leo lying on my side, saying ‘I’m daddy’. So i lay between him and claire, and said ‘i’m Leo’.
After we finished the book, i said ‘Is it bedtime, daddy?’. Leo looked a bit puzzled, but went along with the game, leading me to his room. When i lay in his bed, he tucked me in and said ‘goodnight daddy’. I demanded Scoop, which he brought to me. Then Claire and Leo said goodnight and closed the door.
I got up in a bit and played a little ‘no, not bedtime’ tantrum – stomping on the floor – which he thought funny. Then i called an end to the game and Leo went to bed.
He enjoyed this, and did get the idea of role play (this from the boy who insists he doesn’t like drama!) but my acting a tantrum bothered him just a smidge. I don’t think he’s yet got awareness of how he looks when he does that – he’s to cross to notice himself.

Leave a Reply

